Living Your Vows – In Loving Memory of Emmott Lennon

‘Grandpa Mutt’

Emmott Lennon, my grandfather (affectionately called ‘Grandpa Mutt’), passed away on September 29th.

He was a good man, and as one small way to preserve his memory, I wanted to document and share the words that I offered at his burial on October 13th.

Living Your Vows

I know that Grandpa Mutt didn’t want much ‘fuss’ made over his passing, in fact, he never really wanted much attention focused on him, so I’ll keep my remarks brief.  While there is much that I could say this morning in honor and memory of Grandpa Mutt, I would like to expand on one thought in particular, a thought that has been on my mind the past few weeks.

As a newlywed, as you might expect, I’ve been thinking a lot about marriage recently.  Specifically, I’ve been thinking about the vows that we make on our wedding day.

–  For better or for worse

–  In sickness and in health

–  Until death do us part

When I reflect on this, I’m reminded that while we say these vows on one day of our lives, we need to live them each and every day of our lives.

For me, there are few better examples of living your vows than Grandpa Mutt.

With his words, he may not have been the most outwardly emotional man, but his actions spoke far louder than his words ever could.  He truly and fully lived his vows, until the very end.

He lived his vows by visiting his wife every day over the past decade, without fail, as Alzheimer’s continued to take its toll on her mind and body, talking to her, telling her stories and singing to her, even when she may have no longer known just exactly who he was.

–  That is for better or for worse

–  That is in sickness and in health

–  That is until death do us part

–  That is living your vows

–  And that is an inspiration and a model that I, and all those who are married, should aspire to in their own lives.

Thank you Grandpa Mutt for being an inspiration and for being a role model for all of us in this regard.  You’ll be sorely missed.

God bless.  Rest in peace.  We love you.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

